Spem in Alium for orchestra



This is a version of Tallis’ 40 part motet Spem in Alium for a collection of 8 instrumental quintets.
The 8 quintets are as follows:
1 Woodwind quintet
2 String quintet with 2 violas
3 Brass quintet with trumpets
4 Saxophone quintet
5 String quintet with 2 cellos
6 Reed quintet
7 Flute quintet
8 Brass quintet with cornets
The words of the original motet are:
Spem in alium numquam habui
I have never put my hope in any other
Praeter in te Deus Israel
But in you Oh God of Israel
Qui irasceris et propitius eris
Who will be angry and yet become again gracious
Et omnia peccata hominum in tribulatione dimittis
And who forgives all the sins of suffering man
Domine Deus Creator coeli et terrae
Lord God Creator of Heaven and Earth
Respice humilitatem nostram
Look upon our lowliness